Skip to content
April 21, 2021

Ankeny Centennial High School and Northview Middle School Students Participate in 36th Perry Band Olympics

On February 20, band students from Ankeny Centennial High School and Northview Middle School participated in the 36th Annual Perry Band Olympics. The Perry Band Olympics are a high school Solo and Ensemble Festival that takes place each year at Perry High School. This festival features over 1,000 students and events from eight different high schools across Central Iowa. This year’s festival used a “virtual” format, in which each student recorded a video of themselves performing their solo or ensemble and then submitted it to be judged. Students receive feedback on their performance, a division rating, and medals are awarded to the top 5 students in each center.

The Ankeny Centennial and Northview programs had 100 students perform in 106 different events this year. They came home with 33 Division I “Superior” Ratings, 31 Medal Winners, the most in Centennial history, and received 2nd Place in Overall Competition!

“I was so impressed with the hard work and preparation that all of the students put into their solos and ensembles this year. Despite all of the challenges and new parameters, they were able to work hard and create outstanding musical performances!” said Scott Hook, Director of Bands at Ankeny Centennial High School.

1st Place Winners

Sydney Madison- 11/12 Clarinet Solo

Volta Adovor- 11/12 Bass Clarinet Solo

Teagan Boeckmann- 11/12 Oboe Solo

Lee Foster- 9/10 Bassoon Solo

Jordy Jumper- 9/10 French Horn Solo

Jenna McClain- 9/10 Euphonium Solo

Noah Hook- 9/10 Tuba Solo

Matthew Webster- 9/10 Snare Solo

Connor Grim- 9/10 Misc. Percussion Solo

Sydney Clark & Nathan Neppl- Alto Sax Duet


2nd Place Winners

Brynna Whitney- 9/10 Bass Clarinet Solo

Allison Su- 11/12 Oboe Solo

Alex Ladner- 11/12 Bari Sax Solo

Andrew Stapleton- 11/12 Tuba Solo

Allie Lensch- 11/12 Timpani Solo


3rd Place Winners

Sydney Clark- 11/12 Clarinet Solo

Sarah Williams- 11/12 Bass Clarinet Solo

Kennedy O’Connell- 9/10 Tenor Sax Solo

Selathiel McBride- 9/10 Bari Sax Solo

Seth Cswercko- 11/12 Bari Sax Solo

Amanda Barnes- 11/12 French Horn Solo

Karina Bartlett- 9/10 Trombone Solo

Josie Gillette- 11/12 Mallet Solo

Allie Lensch- 11/12 Misc. Percussion Solo


4th Place Winners

Nathan Neppl- 11/12 Alto Sax Solo

Alayna Cullen- 11/12 Trombone Solo

Lauren McClellan- 9/10- Euphonium Solo

Jillian Scroggs- 9/10 Tuba Solo


5th Place Winners

Caroline Hardekopf- 9/10 Alto Sax Solo

Cael Cheeseman- 11/12 Alto Sax Solo

Owen Huyser- 11/12 Tenor Sax Solo


Division I “Superior” Ratings

Volta Adovor

Amanda Barnes

Karina Bartlett

Teagan Boeckmann

Cael Cheeseman

Anna Christopherson

Sydney Clark

Josie Gillette

Caroline Hardekopf

Noah Hook

Eric Hou

Jordy Jumper

Allie Lensch

Vy Loc

Sydney Madison

Jenna McClain

Lauren McClellan

Nathan Neppl

Allie Pauly

Eli Peterson

Rachel Reimann

Eden Rodekamp

Jillian Scroggs

Emma Smith

Andrew Stapleton

Allison Su

Jordan Su

Matthew Webster

Brynna Whitney

Woodwind Duet

  • Faith Lilly, Eden Rodekamp 

Bass Clarinet Trio 

  • Volta Adovor, Brynna Whitney, Sarah Williams

Trumpet Duet 

  • Tom Brustkern, Eli Peterson

Alto Sax Duet 

  • Sydney Clark, Nathan Neppl

Saxophone Trio

  • Nathan Neppl, Cael Cheeseman, Seth Cswercko